00%
MENU
Back to the tapestries Back to the tapestries
Modern tapestries

Liberté

Jean Lurçat
Reference :
9 593
H. 236 x L. 320 cm / H. 7ft 9 x W. 10ft 6

Tapestry after a cartoon by Jean Lurçat (1892- 1966)

France, Aubusson, probably Suzanne Goubely workshop

Woven in wool and cotton (wrap in cotton, weft in wool)

Signature of the artist

1943

 

As the woven date at the bottom right of the work indicates, it was composed in 1943 when Jean Lurçat was a Resistance fighter in the Lot. Probably put on loom when the free zone had been abolished, it is thus "under the nose and beard of the Germans present in the town and circulating in the workshops that the tapestry was made "* probably in the Goubely workshops, even if, on this edition, the signature of this workshop is missing.

Another very important element of this tapestry which is found in the different versions, it is obviously the verses of the famous poem Liberté by Paul Éluard which are taken up again.

Contact us for more information Contact us for more information

Jean Lurçat was born in 1892 in Bruyère and died in 1966 in Saint Paul de Vence. Jean Lurçat started studying medicine but quickly abandoned this path. He meets Jean proved in Nancy, and then begins their collaboration. In 1912, he moves to Paris with his brother André (architect) and takes courses at the Colarossi Academy. There he met the great names of 20th century painting such as Henri Matisse, Paul Cézanne and Auguste Renoir. Jean Lurçat began his textile adventure with the small stitch before concentrating on tapestry.

Jean Lurçat's woven work is masterful. The artist is internationally known and his name is closely associated with the revival of French tapestry in the post-war years. He is the most important painter and cartoonist of the 20th century. In 1947, Lurçat became President of the Association of Tapestry Cardboard Painters. The A.P.C.T. groups together the artists who participated most effectively in the Renaissance of the Tapestry, that is to say, who understood the absolute necessity not only to re-adopt the primary language of this essentially mural art, but also to proceed at the same time with the reorganisation of the industry on which it depends. "(Text of presentation of the A.P.C.T.)

Jean Lurçat , Artist
Discover the artist Discover the artist

Discover also

00%
MENU
Retour aux Tapisseries Retour aux Tapisseries
Tapisseries modernes

Liberté

Jean Lurçat
Référence :
9 593
H. 236 x L. 320 cm

Tapisserie d'après un carton de Jean Lurçat (1892- 1966)

France, Aubusson, probablement l’Atelier Suzanne Goubely

Tissée en laine et coton (trame en laine, chaine en coton)

Signature du peintre cartonnier

1943

Comme l’indique la date tissée en bas à droite de l’œuvre, elle fut composée en 1943 alors que Jean Lurçat est résistant dans le Lot. Sûrement mise sur métier alors que la zone libre avait été abolie, c’est donc « au nez et à la barbe des Allemands présents dans la ville et circulant dans les ateliers que la tapisserie a été réalisée »* probablement dans les ateliers Goubely, même si, sur cette édition la signature de cet atelier est manquante.

Nous savons que ce carton « a été tissé en sept exemplaires, cinq dans l’atelier Goubely de juillet 1943 à octobre 1946 et, avec une variante, deux dans les ateliers Picaud en 1952. »

Un autre élément très important de cette tapisserie qui se retrouve dans les différentes versions, c’est bien évidemment les vers du célèbre poème Liberté de Paul Éluard qui sont repris.

Nous contacter pour en savoir plus Nous contacter pour en savoir plus

Jean Lurçat est né en 1892 à Bruyère et meut en 1966 à Saint Paul de Vence. Jean Lurçat se lance dans des études de médecine mais abandonne rapidement cette voie. Il rencontre Jean prouvé à Nancy, et commence alors leur collaboration. En 1912, il s’installe à Paris avec son frère André (architecte) et suit des cours à l’Académie Colarossi. Il y rencontre alors les grands noms de la peinture du XXe siècle comme Henri Matisse,  Paul Cézanne et Auguste Renoir. Jean Lurçat débute son aventure textile par le petit point avant de se concentrer à la tapisserie.

L’œuvre tissé de Jean Lurçat est magistral. L’artiste est internationalement connu et son nom est étroitement associé au renouveau de la tapisserie française dans les années d’après-guerre. Il est le peintre-cartonnier le plus important du XXe siècle. En 1947, Lurçat devient Président de l’Association des Peintres Cartonniers de Tapisserie. L’A.P.C.T. groupe les artistes qui ont le plus efficacement participé à la Renaissance de la Tapisserie, c’est-à-dire qui ont compris l’absolue nécessité non seulement de ré-adopter le langage premier de cet art essentiellement mural, mais encore de procéder parallèlement à la réorganisation de l’industrie dont il dépend. » (Texte de présentation de l’A.P.C.T.)

Jean Lurçat , Artiste
Découvrir l’artiste / designer Découvrir l’artiste / designer

Découvrez également