00%
MENU
Back to the tapestries Back to the tapestries
Modern tapestries

Apollinaire Bleu

Jean Lurçat
Reference :
38 309
H. 250 x L. 340 cm / H. 8ft 2 ½ x W. 11ft 2

Tapestry after a cartoon by Jean Lurçat (1892-1966)

France, Aubusson, Atelier Pinton

20th century, 1958 (year of his retrospective at the Musée d'Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris)

Signature of the artist on the lower left, workshop mark attached

Bolduc signed by the artist

 

Apollinaire was born in 1880 in Rome, he was in Paris in 1900 and frequented all the artistic avant-garde (Derain, Vlaminck, Max Jacob, Picasso, Duffy ...) In 1908, he signed a collection of poems: Bestiaire.

This collection of texts is to be put in parallel with Mes Domaines of Jean Lurçat, an illustrated work of 1948 (1st edition) and 1957, hymn to the animal kingdom.
Already around 1943, he weaves tributes to other poets: The Garden of Eluard, but also The Cock Tzara. In these two tapestries, we find associated the sun and the bird.

A copy of this tapestry is kept in one of the rooms of the Palace of the Presidency of the Ivory Coast.

 

Contact us for more information Contact us for more information

Jean Lurçat was born in 1892 in Bruyère and died in 1966 in Saint Paul de Vence. Jean Lurçat started studying medicine but quickly abandoned this path. He meets Jean proved in Nancy, and then begins their collaboration. In 1912, he moves to Paris with his brother André (architect) and takes courses at the Colarossi Academy. There he met the great names of 20th century painting such as Henri Matisse, Paul Cézanne and Auguste Renoir. Jean Lurçat began his textile adventure with the small stitch before concentrating on tapestry.

Jean Lurçat's woven work is masterful. The artist is internationally known and his name is closely associated with the revival of French tapestry in the post-war years. He is the most important painter and cartoonist of the 20th century. In 1947, Lurçat became President of the Association of Tapestry Cardboard Painters. The A.P.C.T. groups together the artists who participated most effectively in the Renaissance of the Tapestry, that is to say, who understood the absolute necessity not only to re-adopt the primary language of this essentially mural art, but also to proceed at the same time with the reorganisation of the industry on which it depends. "(Text of presentation of the A.P.C.T.)

Jean Lurçat , Artist
Discover the artist / designer Discover the artist / designer

Discover also

00%
MENU
Retour aux Tapisseries Retour aux Tapisseries
Tapisseries modernes

Apollinaire Bleu

Jean Lurçat
Référence :
38 309
H. 250 x 340 cm

Tapisserie d’après un carton de Jean Lurçat (1892-1966)

France, Aubusson, Atelier Pinton

XXe siècle, 1958 (année de sa rétrospective au Musée d’Art Moderne de la ville de Paris)

Signature de l’artiste en bas à gauche, marque d’atelier accolée

Bolduc signé par l’artiste

Apollinaire est né en 1880 à Rome, il est à Paris en 1900 et fréquente alors toute l’Avant-Garde artistique (Derain, Vlaminck, Max Jacob, Picasso, Duffy...) En 1908, il signe un recueil de poèmes : Bestiaire.

Ce recueil de textes est à mettre en parallèle avec Mes Domaines de Jean Lurçat, un ouvrage illustré de 1948 (1ere édition) et 1957, hymne au règne animal.
Déjà vers 1943, il fait tisser des hommages à d’autres poètes : Le Jardin d’Eluard, mais aussi Le Coq Tzara. Dans ces deux tapisseries, nous retrouvons associés le soleil et l’oiseau.

Un exemplaire de cette tapisserie est conservé dans une des chambres du Palais de la présidence de la Côte d’Ivoire.

Nous contacter pour en savoir plus Nous contacter pour en savoir plus

Jean Lurçat est né en 1892 à Bruyère et meut en 1966 à Saint Paul de Vence. Jean Lurçat se lance dans des études de médecine mais abandonne rapidement cette voie. Il rencontre Jean prouvé à Nancy, et commence alors leur collaboration. En 1912, il s’installe à Paris avec son frère André (architecte) et suit des cours à l’Académie Colarossi. Il y rencontre alors les grands noms de la peinture du XXe siècle comme Henri Matisse,  Paul Cézanne et Auguste Renoir. Jean Lurçat débute son aventure textile par le petit point avant de se concentrer à la tapisserie.

L’œuvre tissé de Jean Lurçat est magistral. L’artiste est internationalement connu et son nom est étroitement associé au renouveau de la tapisserie française dans les années d’après-guerre. Il est le peintre-cartonnier le plus important du XXe siècle. En 1947, Lurçat devient Président de l’Association des Peintres Cartonniers de Tapisserie. L’A.P.C.T. groupe les artistes qui ont le plus efficacement participé à la Renaissance de la Tapisserie, c’est-à-dire qui ont compris l’absolue nécessité non seulement de ré-adopter le langage premier de cet art essentiellement mural, mais encore de procéder parallèlement à la réorganisation de l’industrie dont il dépend. » (Texte de présentation de l’A.P.C.T.)

Jean Lurçat , Artiste
Découvrir l’artiste Découvrir l’artiste

Découvrez également