00%
MENU
Back to the tapestries Back to the tapestries
Modern tapestries

Franc Carreau

Claude Loewer
Reference :
38 171
H. 266 x L. 361 cm / H. 8ft 9 x W. 12ft 10

Tapestry after a cartoon by Claude Loewer (1917- 2006)

France, Aubusson, Atelier Picaud

Workshop mark on the lower right, woven signature of the artist in the center

Presence of a bolduc

1972

2 copies, one woven

N°154 of the catalog raisonné p. 308, provenance Collection Banque Sorofi, Lyon

Contact us for more information Contact us for more information

Claude Loewer is a Swiss painter, born in 1917 in La Chaux-de-Fonds. Very early on, he became aware of painting and, more generally, of art (his parents were great art lovers). Nevertheless, his artistic ambition had to be put on hold: his family intended him to study literature (classical studies in Latin, Greek and Hebrew), which he did.

Claude Loewer explores several mediums including painting, ceramics, drawing and collage. The artist is keen to explore monumental and architectural art forms: among them, tapestry, which occupies a very important place in his work.

It was in 1953, in France, that the Swiss painter observed his first tapestry fall from the loom, at the Raymond Picaud workshop. Alongside the Aubusson weaver, Claude Loewer produced until 1974, nearly 160 cartoons for tapestry. He is among the protagonists of the revival of the twentieth century tapestry, the artist leads this fight with great names of the tapestry. Among them, Jean Lurçat who said of him that he was his greatest competitor.

Throughout his woven adventure, Claude Loewer is accompanied by Raymond Picaud. The weaver takes him into the world of tapestry and allows him to acquire essential knowledge, technical, on the weaving of his works.

Claude Loewer , Artist
Discover the artist Discover the artist

Discover also

00%
MENU
Retour aux Tapisseries Retour aux Tapisseries
Tapisseries modernes

Franc Carreau

Claude Loewer
Référence :
38 171
H. 266 x L. 361 cm

Tapisserie d'après un carton de Claude Loewer (1917- 2006)

France, Aubusson, Atelier Picaud

Marque d’atelier en bas à droite, signature tissée de l’artiste au centre.

Présence d’un bolduc.

1972

2 exemplaires, un seul tissé

N°154 du catalogue raisonné p. 308, provenance Collection Banque Sorofi, Lyon

Nous contacter pour en savoir plus Nous contacter pour en savoir plus

Claude Loewer est un peintre suisse, né en 1917 à La Chaux-de-Fonds. Très tôt, l’homme est sensibilisé à la peinture et de manière plus globale, à l’art (ses parents sont de grands amateurs). Néanmoins, son ambition artistique doit prendre son mal en patience : sa famille le destine à des études de lettres (études classiques en latin, grec et hébreu) qu’il effectuera.

Claude Loewer explore plusieurs médiums dont la peinture, la céramique, le dessin puis le collage. L’artiste tient à explorer des formes d’art monumentales et architecturales : parmi elles, la tapisserie, qui occupe une place très importante dans son œuvre.

C’est en 1953, en France, que le peintre suisse observe la tombée de métier de sa première tapisserie, au sein de l’Atelier Raymond Picaud. Aux côtés du licier aubussonnais, Claude Loewer produit jusqu’en 1974, près de 160 cartons pour la tapisserie. Il figure parmi les protagonistes du renouveau de la tapisserie du XXe siècle, l’artiste mène ce combat avec de grands noms de la tapisserie. Parmi eux, Jean Lurçat qui disait d’ailleurs de lui qu’il était son plus grand concurrent.

Tout au long de son aventure tissée, Claude Loewer est accompagné par Raymond Picaud. Le licier l’entraîne dans l’univers de la tapisserie et lui permet d’acquérir des connaissances essentielles, techniques, sur le tissage de ses œuvres.

Claude Loewer , Artiste
Découvrir l’artiste Découvrir l’artiste

Découvrez également