00%
MENU
Back Back
Exhibitions
01.12.2017

MATHIEU DUCOURNAU - APPARITIONS

On the one hand, there are the topographies, which are like abstract reliefs where everyone can see what they want to see… and on the other hand, the portraits. The theme of the portrait is part of a pictorial tradition, but little by little, the motif will migrate, detach itself, like a contemporary Shroud! With the series of anonymous, the artist transfigures each detail, until the personality of the model comes out. Then the artist continues the exploration of the representation of the portrait through the ages, with some great figures of the collective memory.

From Velázquez to Vinci, from Rembrandt to El Greco, passing by the contemporary icon par excellence: the emoticon.
References and tributes parade. Like mirages, these portraits transport us with their particular, almost ghostly presence. Portraits of memory, it is no longer we who look at the Mona Lisa or the Menina, but they who look at us.

The threads used as a dry paint, by mixing, by superimposing themselves, make these faces appear as if they were in three dimensions. Of blurred appearance, they only become more real, more alive! Mathieu Ducournau was born in Morocco and lives and works in Paris. an intuitive and unusual artist, he explored the possibilities of painting on his own before encountering thread and the potential of the sewing machine. he has been exhibiting regularly since 1996, and has also collaborated with French luxury houses such as Taillardat and Hermès.

00%
MENU
Retour Retour
Exposition
01.12.2017

MATHIEU DUCOURNAU - APPARITIONS

D’une part, il y a les topographies, qui sont comme des reliefs abstraits où chacun peut apercevoir ce qu’il souhaite y voir… et d’autre part, les portraits. la thématique du portrait s’inscrit dans une tradition picturale mais petit à petit, le motif va migrer, se détacher, tel un Suaire contemporain ! Avec la série des anonymes, l’artiste transfigure chaque détails, jusqu’à faire ressortir la personnalité du modèle. Puis l’artiste poursuit l’exploration de la représentation du portrait à travers les époques, avec quelques grandes figures de la mémoire collective.

De Velázquez, à Vinci, de Rembrandt au Greco, en passant par l’icône contemporaine par excellence : l’émoticône.
Les références et les hommages défilent. Tels des mirages, ces portraits nous transportent par leur présence si particulière, presque fantomatique. Portraits du souvenir, ce n’est plus nous qui regardons la Joconde ou la Ménine, mais elles qui nous regardent.

les fils utilisés comme une peinture sèche, en se mêlant, en se superposant, font apparaître ces visages comme s’ils étaient en trois dimensions. D’apparence plus floue, ils n’en deviennent que plus réels, plus vivants ! Mathieu Ducournau est né au maroc, il vit et travaille à Paris. artiste intuitif et hors norme, il explore seul les possibilités de la peinture avant de rencontrer le fils et le potentiel de la machine à coudre. il expose régulièrement depuis 1996, et collabore également avec des maisons de luxe françaises telles que Taillardat ou hermès.