00%
MENU
Back Back
Exhibitions
03.06.2015

JON ERIC RIIS / MARCEL MAROIS - MEN AT THE LOOM

These artists use a process specific to metamorphosis: the detour and appropriation of images. Jon Eric Riis, for this exhibition, has focused mainly on the figure of Man, while Marcel Marois remains very attentive to nature.

The work of Jon Eric Riis abounds in references to the Myths and Ideals of the cultures of the past. As for example with Young Icarus and this elegant male silhouette from the back, with wings taken up next to it and woven in 3 dimensions. The artist also creates a typical garment whose slightly flared silhouette, with wide sleeves, becomes a short coat or jacket that is not meant to be worn. The middle opening of the garment allows for the discovery of a possible interior decoration. In Asia, clothing is much more than a fashion phenomenon: it materializes social or religious belonging. A sort of symbolic world that can be worn, it always carries a message, as shown, for example, by the Ancestors’ coat, woven especially for the exhibition and still being woven. The outside is decorated with human faces, without hair, faces that are not stereotyped but almost interchangeable! The artist is aware of the strong symbolism of clothing in different cultures and at all times. He plays with the hidden/revealed and highlights a game between the inside and the outside. He surprises us by revealing a message…here, the interior takes the head of a monkey, the ancestor of Man!

As for Marcel Marois, these recent tapestries are more and more abstract, there is an almost total erasure of all naturalistic traces. However, the iconography at its source, comes from the pixilation of an image, often extracted from the local press, evoking for example beached whales, seals… then deformed by the repeated passages to the photocopier and thereafter, to weaving. But the referents are progressively erased by the geometrical forms, as for example in the tapestry Double Horizons or still with Averse Chromatique. These metaphors evoke the necessity of environmental commitment, the urgency of renouncing a nature that would only be ornamental. By weaving his own visual universe, the artist takes a vigilant look at our fragile world, at this vital nature. On the frame of History, he fixes the irreversible alteration of the world

00%
MENU
Retour Retour
Exposition
03.06.2015

JON ERIC RIIS / MARCEL MAROIS - MEN AT THE LOOM

Ces artistes  usent d’un processus propre à la métamorphose : le détournement et l’appropriation d’images. Jon Eric Riis, pour cette exposition, s’est porté principalement sur la figure de l’Homme, quant à Marcel Marois, lui, demeure toujours très attentif à la nature.

L’œuvre de Jon Eric Riis abonde de références aux Mythes et Idéaux des cultures du Passé. Comme par exemple avec Young Icarus et cette élégante silhouette masculine de dos, aux ailes reprises à coté et tissées en 3 dimensions. L’artiste crée aussi un vêtement type dont la silhouette légèrement évasée, aux manches larges, devient un court manteau ou veste qui ne sont pas destinés à être portés. L’ouverture médiane du vêtement permet de découvrir un éventuel décor intérieur. En Asie, le vêtement est bien plus qu’un phénomène de mode : il matérialise l’appartenance sociale ou religieuse. Sorte de monde symbolique endossable, il est toujours porteur de message, comme en témoigne, par exemple, the Ancestors’ coat, tissé spécialement pour l’exposition et encore en cours de tissage. L’extérieur est orné de visages humains, sans cheveux, des visages qui ne sont pas stéréotypés mais pourtant presque interchangeables! L’artiste connaît la forte symbolique du vêtement dans les différentes cultures et à toutes les époques. Il joue avec le caché/ révélé et met en exergue un jeu entre l’intérieur et l’extérieur. Il nous surprend en nous révélant un message…ici, l’intérieur reprend la tête d’un singe, l’ancêtre de l’Homme !

Quant à Marcel Marois, ces tapisseries récentes sont de plus en plus abstraites, il y a un effacement quasi-total de toutes traces naturalistes. Pourtant, l’iconographie à sa source, provient de la pixellisation d’une image, souvent extraite de la presse locale, évoquant par exemple des baleines échouées, des phoques… puis déformée par les passages répétés à la photocopieuse et par la suite, au tissage. Mais Les référents sont progressivement gommés par les formes géométriques, comme par exemple dans la tapisserie Double Horizons ou encore avec Averse Chromatique. Ces métaphores évoquent la nécessité de l’engagement environnemental, l’urgence de renoncer à une nature qui serait seulement ornementale. En tissant son propre univers visuel, l’artiste pose un regard vigilant sur notre monde fragile, sur cette nature vitale. Sur la trame de l’Histoire, il fixe l’altération irréversible du monde.