00%
MENU
Back to the tapestries Back to the tapestries
Antique tapestries

Le Repas de Psyché

Reference :
38 116
H. 286 x L. 364 cm / H. 9ft 5 x W. 12ft

Tapestry of Paris, workshop of the Faubourg St Germain (Workshop of Raphaël de la Planche)

Tapestry part of a hanging of the History of Psyche

Central composition after Pieter Coecke d'Aelst (1502 - 1550)

Border by Michel Corneille (1603 - 1654)

Woven in wool and silk (wool warp, wool and silk weft)

17th century, around 1660

 

It is not in the Metamorphoses of Ovid that we find the myth of Psyche but in The Golden Ass or Metamorphoses of Lucius Apuleus (born in 125 AD). The legend tells the misadventures of a princess whose great beauty had aroused the jealousy of Venus. The princess was indeed so beautiful that the rumor had spread in the neighboring cities that a new Venus was mixing with the society of men.

One conceives that true Venus could be irritated of it. She asked her son, Love, to avenge the affront that Psyche had inflicted on her. But Love fell in love with Psyche. He visits her at night and makes her promise not to try to see his face; a sacrilegious curiosity would cause her loss. Urged on by her sisters, Psyche cannot resist her curiosity. She will lose Love and will have to face Venus' vengeance, who reserves her many torments and trials.

Jupiter will finally accede to Eros' prayers and will agree to celebrate his wedding with Psyche; "and, when the time came, a daughter was born to them, whom we name Voluptuousness" thus ends this beautiful legend.

 

Contact us for more information Contact us for more information

Discover also

00%
MENU
Retour aux Tapisseries Retour aux Tapisseries
Tapisseries anciennes

Le Repas de Psyché

Référence :
38 116
H. 286 x L. 364 cm

Tapisserie de Paris, atelier du Faubourg St Germain (Atelier de Raphaël de la Planche)

Tapisserie faisant partie d’une tenture de l’Histoire de Psyché

Composition centrale d’après Pieter Coecke d’Aelst (1502 – 1550)

Bordure par Michel Corneille (1603 – 1654)

Tissée en laine et soie (chaine en laine, trame en laine et soie)

XVIIe siècle, vers 1660

 

Ce n'est pas dans les Métamorphoses d'Ovide que l'on retrouve le mythe de Psyché mais dans L’âne d'Or ou les Métamorphoses de Lucius Apuleus (né en 125 ap J.C). La légende raconte les mésaventures d'une princesse dont la grande beauté avait suscité la jalousie de Vénus. La princesse était en effet si belle que le bruit s'était répandu dans les cités voisines qu'une nouvelle Vénus se mêlait à la société des hommes

On conçoit que la véritable Vénus put en être irritée. Elle demanda à son fils, l'Amour, de la venger de l'affront que lui avait infligé Psyché. Mais l'Amour va s'éprendre de Psyché. Celui-ci lui rend visite la nuit et lui fait promettre de ne pas chercher à voir son visage ; une curiosité sacrilège causerait sa perte. Poussée par ses sœurs, Psyché ne pourra résister à la curiosité. Elle perdra l'Amour et devra affronter la vengeance de Vénus qui lui réserve maints tourments et épreuves.

Jupiter finira par accéder aux prières d'Eros et acceptera de célébrer ses noces avec Psyché ; "et, lorsque le moment fut venu, il leur naquit une fille que nous nommons Volupté" ainsi se termine cette belle légende

 

Nous contacter pour en savoir plus Nous contacter pour en savoir plus

Découvrez également