00%
MENU
Back to Fiber Art Back to Fiber Art

Totem II

Victoria Tanto
Reference :
CVT 3
H. 44 x L. 30 cm / H. 1ft 5 x W. 1ft

Wool and cotton twists embroidered on paper and velvet inlays

Unique piece

2019

Contact us for more information Contact us for more information

Her work is the result of a spontaneous process, a series of formal intuitions linked to the materials she encounters in her daily environment. Guided by texture, contrast and density, she associates, adds, intertwines and gives birth to structures with an organic look.

Her creations grow slowly, to the rhythm of meticulous gestures. They seem to grow and climb on the walls, like roots spreading. Made from miles of patiently twisted threads, her cotton cartographies reveal themselves on the narrow scale of the plant or on the macroscopic scale of a satellite view.

Victoria Tanto is free of colour: black and white deceive the eye, making a multitude of shades of grey emerge through an optical effect. Between elegance and sobriety, the duo shapes the volume of her "Totems" and renders the timelessness of her compositions.

The call of the material pushes Victoria to extend her artistic practice to the field of photography and set design. There she rediscovers the pleasure of meticulously chiselling miniature scale environments using light and attention to texture.

Victoria Tanto , Artist
Discover the artist Discover the artist

Discover also

00%
MENU
Retour aux Art textile contemporain Retour aux Art textile contemporain

Totem II

Victoria Tanto
Référence :
CVT 3
H. 44 x L. 30 cm

Torsades de laine et coton brodées sur papier et incrustations de velours

Pièce unique

2019

Nous contacter pour en savoir plus Nous contacter pour en savoir plus

Victoria Tanto est une artiste française, née en 1988. Elle vit et travaille à Paris. C’est au sein de l’École Nationale Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs qu’elle se forme au design textile/matière.

Son travail résulte d’un processus spontané, d’une suite d’intuitions formelles liées aux matières qu’elle rencontre dans son environnement quotidien. Guidée par une texture, un contraste, une densité, elle associe, additionne, entremêle et fait naître des structures aux allures organiques.

Ses créations poussent lentement, au rythme d’une gestuelle minutieuse. Elles semblent croitre et grimper sur les murs, telles des racines qui se propagent. Confectionnées à partir de kilomètres de fils patiemment torsadés, ses cartographies de coton se révèlent à l’échelle resserrée du végétal ou encore, à celle macroscopique d’une vue satellite.

Victoria Tanto s’exempte de la couleur : le noir et le blanc trompent l’œil, faisant émerger, par un effet d’optique, une multitude de nuances de gris. Entre élégance et sobriété, le duo façonne le volume de ses « Totems » et rend l’intemporalité de ses compositions.

L’appel de la matière pousse Victoria à étendre sa pratique artistique au domaine de la photographie et de la confection de décor. Elle y retrouve le plaisir de ciseler minutieusement, par la lumière et l’attention portée aux textures, des environnements à échelle miniature.

Victoria Tanto , Artiste
Découvrir l’artiste Découvrir l’artiste

Découvrez également